Meeting details


Meeting Minutes


2021 03 18 ECS Minute.pdf



Microsoft Word

Agenda Items


1 - Sederunt and Declaration of Members’ Interests


2A - Statement on Equalities

Consider, and if so decided, adopt the following:- “In line with the Council’s legal duty under section 149 of the Equality Act 2010, the Committee, in making decisions on the attached reports, shall have due regard to the need to:-


(i)         eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation;

(ii)        advance equality of opportunity between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it; and

(iii)           foster good relations between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it.”



Document Type (02) Equalities Agenda Note.pdf


2B - Exempt Information

Consider, and if so decided, adopt the following resolution:- “That under Section 50A (4) and (5) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, the public and media representatives be excluded from the meeting for Item 21 of the business below, on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information of the class described in the relevant paragraphs of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act.”


3 - Minute of Meeting of the Education and Children’s Services Committee of 28 January, 2021

Document Type (03) 2021 01 28 ECS Draft Minute.pdf


4 - Progress with Outstanding Actions from Previous Meetings

Document Type (04) Outstanding Actions List.pdf


5 - Covid-19 Verbal Update

Verbal Update


6 - Learning Estates Strategy

Document Type (06) Learning Estates Strategy.pdf


7 - Learning Estates Update

Document Type (07) Learning Estates Update V2.pdf


8 - Secondary School S1 Admission Limits and Reserved Places

Document Type (08) Secondary School S1 Admission Limits and Reserved Places.pdf


9 - Attendance and Absence in Aberdeenshire Schools 2019/20

Document Type (09) Attendance and Absence in Aberdeenshire Schools 2019-20.pdf


10 - Summary and Analysis of Initial School Leaver Destinations 2019/20 and Overview of Sustained Destinations Data

Document Type (10) Summary and Analysis of Initial School Leaver Destinations 201920.pdf


11 - Teacher Staffing

Document Type (11) Teacher Staffing.pdf


12 - Primary School Design Brief

Document Type (12) Primary School Design Brief.pdf


13 - Carbon Budget Six-Monthly Update

Document Type (13) Carbon budget Six-Monthly Update.pdf


14 - Community Learning and Development Third Sector Funding

Document Type (14) CLD Third Sector Funding.pdf


15 - Analysis of Attainment and Achievement of Young People from Aberdeenshire Secondary Schools in Accredited Awards (2019-20)

Document Type (15) Analysis of attainment and achievement of young people.pdf


16 - Update on the Development of Foundation Apprenticeships in Aberdeenshire Schools

Document Type (16) Update on the Development of FA i Aberdeenshire Schools.pdf


17 - Corporate Improvement Plan 2020/21.

Document Type (17) Corporate Improvement Plan 202021.pdf


18 - Policy Register Annual Reporting

Document Type (18) Policy Register Annual Reporting.pdf


19 - Tackling Poverty & Inequalities – Progress Report

Document Type (19) Tackling Poverty Inequalities - Progress Report.pdf


20 - The Use of Delegated Powers by the Director of Education and Children's Services by Reason of Special Urgency

Document Type (20) The use of delegated powers by Director of ECS.pdf


(EXEMPT) 21 - Education and Children’s Services Directorate Procurement Work Plan

Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Gillian Owen
Ellon and District
Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Committee Chair

Anne Simpson
Central Buchan
Scottish Liberal Democrat
Committee Vice Chair

Committee members

Ann Bell
Fraserburgh and District
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Laurie Carnie
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Jim Gifford
East Garioch

Andrew Hassan
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Matthew James
Peterhead North and Rattray
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Anouk Kloppert
Aboyne, Upper Deeside and Donside

Lauren Knight
Huntly, Strathbogie and Howe of Alford
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Gordon Lang
Turriff and District
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

David Mair
Central Buchan

Louise McAllister
Ellon and District

Jenny Nicol

Kevin Stelfox

Substitute Members

Cllr Dianne Beagrie, Cllr Sarah Brown, Cllr Yi-Pei Chou Turvey, Cllr Sarah Dickinson, Cllr Alison Evison, Cllr Fatima Joji, Cllr Dominic Lonchay, Cllr Doreen Mair, Cllr Leeann McWhinnie, Cllr Hannah Powell, Cllr Glen Reid, Cllr Ann Ross, Cllr Anne Stirling, Cllr Catherine Victor,

Non Elected Members

Mr D Bilsland (Education representative)(No Vote)
Claire Eade (Primary Education representative)(No Vote)
Rev Carl Irvine (Religious representative )(Vote)
Lisa Lyall (Religious representative - Central Church)(Vote)
Mrs Ruth Paterson (Religious representative - Roman Catholic)(Vote)

Education and Children`s Services Committee (from 27 January 2017)