Meeting details


Meeting Minutes


2020 12 03 ECS Minute.pdf



Microsoft Word

Agenda Items


1 - Sederunt and Declaration of Members’ Interests


2A - Statement on Equalities

Consider, and if so decided, adopt the following:- “In line with the Council’s legal duty under section 149 of the Equality Act 2010, the Committee, in making decisions on the attached reports, shall have due regard to the need to:-

(i)       eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation;

(ii)       advance equality of opportunity between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it; and

(iii)      foster good relations between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it.”

Document Type (02) Equalities Agenda Note.pdf


2B - Exempt Information

Consider, and if so decided, adopt the following resolution:-  “That under Section 50A (4) and (5) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, the public and media representatives be excluded from the meeting for Items 18, 19 and 20 of the business below, on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information of the class described in the relevant paragraphs of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act.”


3 - Minute of Meeting of the Education and Children’s Services Committee of 8 October, 2020

Document Type (03) Draft ECS Minute 2020 10 08.pdf


4 - Progress with Outstanding Actions from Previous Meetings

Document Type (04) Outstanding Actions List (002).pdf


5 - Covid-19 Verbal Update


6 - Aberdeenshire Children’s Services Plan 2020-2023 Including Annual Report for 2019/20

Document Type (06) CSP.pdf


7 - Aberdeenshire Young Carer Strategy 2021-2023

Document Type (07) Young Carer Strategy 2021-2023.pdf


8 - Annual Reports for Aberdeenshire’s Children’s Homes – 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2020

Document Type (08) Children's Homes.pdf


9 - Home Education Policy – Flexi Schooling Guidance

Document Type (09) Flexi-Schooling.pdf


10 - Delivery of Foundation Apprenticeships in Aberdeenshire Schools 2021/22 – Development of a Dynamic Purchasing System

Document Type (10) Delivery of Foundation Apprenticeships 2021-22 - Development of a DPS rpt.pdf


11 - Relocation of Anna Ritchie School within Peterhead Community Campus

Document Type (11) Anna Ritchie School Relocation.pdf


12 - Merger of Dales Park and Meethill Schools

Document Type (12) Dales Park and Meethill.pdf


13 - Education and Children’s Services Mid-Year Performance Monitoring Report – April to September 2020 (Council Priorities).

Document Type (13) ECS Perf Monitoring Report Mid-Yr 2020-21.pdf


14 - Aberdeenshire’s Digital Strategy.

Document Type (14) Aberdeenshire Digital Strategy ECS (Donna Redford).pdf


15 - Chief Social Work Officer, Annual Report 2019/2020.

Document Type (15) CSWO.pdf


16 - Climate Change, Declaration Consultation.

Document Type (16) Climate Change Declaration Consultation (IS).pdf


17 - Quarter 2 Financial Performance: Education and Children’s Services.

Document Type (17) ECS Perf monitoring Q2.pdf


(EXEMPT) 18 - Education and Children’s Services Directorate Supplementary Work Plan.


(EXEMPT) 19 - Hard Facilities Management (Hard FM) Update.


(EXEMPT) 20 - Inverurie Community Campus.

Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Gillian Owen
Ellon and District
Scottish Conservative and Unionist
Committee Chair

Rosemary Bruce
Banchory and Mid-Deeside
Scottish Liberal Democrat
Committee Vice Chair

Committee members

Dianne Beagrie
Peterhead North and Rattray
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Charles Buchan
Fraserburgh and District

Sarah Dickinson
Stonehaven and Lower Deeside
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Alison Evison
North Kincardine
Scottish Labour

Martin Ford
East Garioch
Democratic Independent and Green Group

Jim Gifford
Aligned Independent

Moira Ingleby
Huntly, Strathbogie and Howe of Alford
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Louise McAllister
Ellon and District

Ron McKail
Westhill and District
Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Anne Simpson
Central Buchan
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Leigh Wilson
Alba Party

Substitute Members

Cllr Neil Baillie, Cllr Lesley Berry, Cllr Stephen Calder, Cllr Paul Gibb, Cllr Paul Johnston, Cllr David Keating, Cllr John Latham, Cllr Dominic Lonchay, Cllr Doreen Mair, Cllr Glen Reynolds, Cllr Dennis Robertson, Cllr Ann Ross, Cllr Anne Stirling,

Non Elected Members

Mr D Bilsland (Education representative)(No Vote)
Claire Eade (Primary Education representative)(No Vote)
Vacancy (Church of Scotland) (Religious representative )(Vote)
Mrs Ruth Paterson (Religious representative - Roman Catholic)(Vote)

Education and Children`s Services Committee (from 27 January 2017)