Meeting details


Meeting Minutes


2020 08 27 ECS Minute.pdf



Microsoft Word

Agenda Items


0 - Link to Recording of Meeting

ECS Skype Meeting Recording - 27 August, 2020


1 - Sederunt and Declaration of Members’ Interests


2 - Statement on Equalities

Consider, and if so decided, adopt the following:- “In line with the Council’s legal duty under section 149 of the Equality Act 2010, the Committee, in making decisions on the attached reports, shall have due regard to the need to:-

(i)       eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation;

(ii)      advance equality of opportunity between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it; and

(iii)     foster good relations between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it.”

Document Type (02) Equalities Agenda Note.pdf


3 - Minute of Meeting of the Education and Children’s Services Committee of 28 May, 2020

Document Type (03) ECS Cttee Draft Minute - 28 05 2020.pdf


4 - Progress with Outstanding Actions from Previous Meetings

Document Type (04) Outstanding Actions List.pdf


5 - Notification of Use of Delegated Powers by Director of Education and Children’s Services by Reason of Special Urgency and Requesting Approval of Community Learning and Development No-One Left Behind Opportunities For All Grants Award

Document Type (05) Notification of Use of Delegated Powers by Director of ECS.pdf


6 - Approval of Grant Award

Document Type (06) Approval of Grant Award.pdf


7 - Covid-19 Update

Document Type (07) Covid-19 Update rpt.pdf


8 - Education and Children’s Services Year-End Performance Monitoring Report – October, 2019 to March, 2020

Document Type (08) ECS Year-End Performance Monitoring.pdf


9 - School Roll Capping – Alford Primary School



10 - School Catering Update

Document Type (10) School Catering Update rpt.pdf


11 - Quarter 1 Financial Performance – Education & Children’s Services

Document Type (11) Quarter 1 Financial Performance ECS rpt.pdf


12 - Update on Aberdeenshire Young Carer Strategy 2019-2020

Document Type (12) Update on Aberdeenshire Young Carer Strategy 2019-2020 rpt.pdf


13 - Adoption Service Annual Report 2019

Document Type (13) Adoption Service Annual Report 2019 rpt.pdf


14 - Fostering Service Annual Report 2019

Document Type (14) Fostering Service Annual Report 2019 rpt.pdf


15 - Corporate Parenting Annual Report

Document Type (15) Corporate Parenting Annual Report rpt.pdf


16 - Aberdeenshire Child Protection Committee Progress Report (1 April, 2018 – 31 March, 2020)

Document Type (16) Aberdeenshire Child Protection Cttee Progress Report 1 rpt.pdf


17 - National Improvement Framework Report and Plan

Document Type (17) National Improvement Framework Report and Plan.pdf


18 - Literacies Strategy Update

Document Type (18) Literacies Strategy Update rpt.pdf

Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Gillian Owen
Ellon and District
Committee Chair

Rosemary Bruce
Banchory and Mid-Deeside
Scottish Liberal Democrat
Committee Vice Chair

Committee members

Karen Adam

Dianne Beagrie
Peterhead North and Rattray

Charles Buchan
Fraserburgh and District

Sarah Dickinson
Stonehaven and Lower Deeside
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Alison Evison
North Kincardine
Scottish Labour

Martin Ford
East Garioch
Democratic Independent and Green Group

Victoria Harper
West Garioch

Moira Ingleby
Huntly, Strathbogie and Howe of Alford

Ron McKail
Westhill and District

Anne Simpson
Central Buchan
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Judy Whyte
Inverurie and District
Aligned Independent

Leigh Wilson
Social Democratic Group

Substitute Members

Cllr Neil Baillie, Cllr Lesley Berry, Cllr Stephen Calder, Cllr Paul Gibb, Cllr Fergus Hood, Cllr Paul Johnston, Cllr John Latham, Cllr Dominic Lonchay, Cllr Doreen Mair, Cllr Glen Reynolds, Cllr Dennis Robertson, Cllr Ann Ross, Cllr Anne Stirling,

Non Elected Members

Mr D Bilsland (Education representative)(No Vote)
Claire Eade (Primary Education representative)(No Vote)
Vacancy (Church of Scotland) (Religious representative )(Vote)
Mrs Ruth Paterson (Religious representative - Roman Catholic)(Vote)

Education and Children`s Services Committee (from 27 January 2017)