Meeting details


Meeting Minutes


ECS Minute 1 Feb.pdf



Microsoft Word

Agenda Items


1 - Declaration of Members’ Interests


2A - Statement on Equalities

Consider, and if so decided, adopt:- “In line with the Council’s legal duty under section 149 of the Equality Act 2010 the Committee, in making decisions on the attached reports, shall have due regard to the need to”:-


(i)       eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation;

(ii)      advance equality of opportunity between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it; and

(iii)      foster good relations between those who share a protected characteristic and persons who do not share it

Document Type (02) Equalities Agenda Note.pdf


2B - Resolution

Consider, and if so decided, adopt the following resolution: - That under Section 50A (4) and (5) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, the public and media representatives be excluded from the Meeting for Item 14 of the business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information of the classes described in the relevant Paragraphs of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act


3 - Minute of Meeting of the Education and Children’s Services Committee on 7 December, 2017

Document Type (3) ECS Minute.pdf


4 - Glow (Digital Learning For Scotland) Visit

Verbal Report


5 - Secondary School Admissions Limits and Reserved Spaces

Document Type (5) Secondary Reserved Places.pdf


6 - 2017 Based School Roll Forecasts

Document Type (6) School Roll Forecast.pdf


7 - Primary School Capacities Review 2017

Document Type (7) Primary Capacities.pdf


8 - Teacher Recruitment

Document Type (8)Teacher Recruitment.pdf


9 - Primary Curriculum – Update on Managing Non-Class Contact Time

Document Type (9) Staffing Requirements.pdf


10 - Period Poverty

Document Type (10) Period Poverty.pdf


11 - Annual Report of the Aberdeenshire Child and Family Protection Committee

Document Type (11) Child Family Protection.pdf


12 - Proposals for Changes to the Governance of Education

Document Type (12) Education Governance.pdf


13 - Financial Monitoring as at December, 2017

Document Type (13) E&CS Monitoring Report.pdf


13(a) - Taken as a Matter of Urgency

Document Type Additional Item - Transport.pdf


(EXEMPT) 14 - Education & Children’s Services Work Plan

Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Gillian Owen
Ellon and District
Committee Chair

Mark Findlater
Committee Vice Chair

Committee members

Rosemary Bruce
Banchory and Mid-Deeside
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Charles Buchan
Fraserburgh and District

Sarah Dickinson
Stonehaven and Lower Deeside
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Alison Evison
North Kincardine
Scottish Labour

Alan Fakley
Peterhead South and Cruden

Martin Ford
East Garioch
Democratic Independent and Green Group

Victoria Harper
West Garioch

Moira Ingleby
Huntly, Strathbogie and Howe of Alford

Ron McKail
Westhill and District

Anne Simpson
Central Buchan
Scottish Liberal Democrat

Judy Whyte
Inverurie and District
Aligned Independent

Leigh Wilson

Substitute Members

Cllr Karen Adam, Cllr Neil Baillie, Cllr Dianne Beagrie, Cllr Paul Gibb, Cllr Fergus Hood, Cllr Paul Johnston, Cllr Andy Kille, Cllr John Latham, Cllr Doreen Mair, Cllr Glen Reynolds, Cllr Dennis Robertson, Cllr Ann Ross, Cllr Anne Stirling, Cllr Iain Taylor,

Non Elected Members

Mr D Bilsland (Education representative)(No Vote)
Adrienne Guy (Education representative)(No Vote)
Ms Aileen Barclay (Religious representative - Church of Scotland)(Vote)
Mrs Ruth Paterson (Religious representative - Roman Catholic)(Vote)

Education and Children`s Services Committee (from 27 January 2017)